Researchers Profile

Prof. Edy Tri Baskoro M.Sc.,Ph.D.

The Habibie Award Center awarded Habibie Award 2009 to Prof. Dr. Edy Tri Baskoro in the field of Basic Sciences. The selection team which consist of 24 professional experts rewarded Edy Tri Baskoro for his contribution in solving degrees or diameters in graph theory, namely the study of existence, structure, property, and the many systems built by a set of points and lines. In his opinion, this award shows that mathematics got a high appreciation to keep developing. He also said that mathematics, science, and technology are important in order to survive and be more advanced. Prof. Dr. Edy Tri Baskoro is a professor in the Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences ITB. Right now, he serves as Chair of Expertise Group (KK) of Combinatorics Mathematics FMIPA ITB.

Dr Eng Ferry Iskandar

Dr Eng Ferry Iskandar dedication in developing material technology led him to receive Habibie Award in the field of Basic Sciences in 2014. His inquietude about Indonesia’s inability to process its own natural resources becomes the background of his work consisting of various material technology needed for energy production, energy storage, and efficient energy use. Aspire to bring forward material technology in Indonesia, Ferry promoted the importance of this technology through various seminars. He said that material technology is one of the basic technology to develop its derivatives.

Prof. Emeritus Drs Abdul Djalil Pirous

The Habibie Award Center awarded the 2015 Habibie Award to Prof. Emeritus Drs Abdul Djalil Pirous in the Field of Cultural Sciences. He is a Professor of Fine Art at ITB and is a senior painter with modern art with a breath of Islam. He produces works of art and graphics. AD Pirous hopes that art would not work only as a media, but also would provide benefits to the community, especially in the aspect of welfare values.

Prof. Hendra Gunawan Ph.D

Hendra Gunawan is a Professor in the Faculty of Mathematics and Science, Bandung Institute of Technology (ITB). He won the 2016 Habibie Award in the Basic Sciences category. Hendra is the most productive mathematician in Indonesia. Hendra has written 30 papers or papers in the fourier analysis area, 32 in the functional analysis area, and 14 in other areas. Of all these, 55 papers were published in international journals indexed by Mathematical Reviews where 14 of them were written in their own names. In addition, Hendra is an innovator in the area of modern fourier analysis or mathematical processes used to solve complex waveform problems into sinusoidal components. As an educator, Hendra popularized mathematics through Hendra also created a special blog to attract children's interest in science through

Prof. Ir. Tommy Firman, M.Sc., Ph.D.

Tommy Firdaus, professor of School of Architecture, Planning, and Policy Development ITB was awarded with Habibie Award in engineering in 2016. He was active as a board member in various leading international journals. Besides Habibie Award, he was also awarded with Ristek Award, Rockefeller Award and Otto Kornigsberger Award. He stated in a notable scientific speech titled Increasing Spatial Planning Effectiveness for Region and City Development in Indonesia, that spatial planning is not the final objective, but it is a tool to achieve greater development goals. Thus, spatial and city planning and global economics should continuously be developed to adapt with current rapid development.

Prof. Khairurrijal

Prof. Khairurrijal is a professor in Electronics Material Physics Research Group of Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences. Currently, he is serving as the Head of Research and Community Services ITB. He got awarded with Habibie Award in 2017. Prof. Khairurrijal has been actively conducting research since 2001 and and established Nachriebe, an instrumentation material physics startup company. Prof. Dr. Eng. Khairurrijal had invented many great things such as I-V Meter Elkahifi 100 and I-V Meter Nachriebe 101, a product that can be used for water filter, juice filter, wound cover and medicine delivery system.

Prof. dr. Eng Mikrajuddin Abdullah

In 2018, Professor of the Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences ITB, Prof. Dr. Eng. Mikrajuddin Abdullah M.Si received the Habibie Award in basic science from the Human Resources Foundation in Science and Technology (Yayasan Sumber Daya Manusia dalam Ilmu Pengetahuan dan Teknologi). Prof. Mikrajuddin is a nanomaterial physicist who has produced great works for the development of science, especially research in the field of nano synthesis, characterization, and theory development. As reported by the official website of ITB, from more than 300 scientific papers, around 140 of his papers are international papers. Also, of the 140 international papers, 94 are international scientific journal papers and 46 are internationally proceeded. For him, a scientist has a special mission to participate in educating the nation. The making of books can be one of the medium for delivering information for future generations. Prof. Mikrajuddin has produced 49 books, with 6 of them in the process of publishing. Other award recipients are Prof. Dr. Rovina Ruslami SpP, PhD (medical science) from Padjadjaran University, and Prof. Dr. Edvin Aldrian B. Eng, M.Sc (engineering science) from the Agency for the Assessment and Application of Technology (Badan Pengkajian dan Penerapan Teknologi).

Prof. Dr. Ir. Tati Latifah Erawati Rajab

Prof. Dr. Ir. Tati Latifah Erawati Rajab is an ITB professor who won the 2019 Habibie Award in Engineering. His work includes medical devices for post-operative medical rehabilitation aids, eye examination software, ElectroEncephaloGraphy sensor systems, and early breast cancer detection systems. Prof. Dr. Ir. Tati Latifah Erawati Rajab owns three patents, including Non-invasive Vascular Analyzer (NIVA) which detects the level of flexibility of blood vessels, 12-lead electrocardiographic electronic devices with telemetry, and medical devices that detect hepatitis B detection.